Skip navigation


my first post

with special thanks to Mr WordPress

[LJL: “Hello world!” indeed ]
i like my first little default message – prepared and posted for me by Mr WordPress. for starters, “Hello world!” signifies success, and is very often a starting point for something greater. it is also, quite appropriately, a greeting to a world of which i am now a part. yes. Hello world!


[LJL] note to self: one reason i am leaving the original welcome comments is that i think it is a very good example of a self-documenting initialization process



[LJL: my first edits to a post ]

i thought it was a nice touch to have a template startup post, rather than being faced with a blank page. i chose to edit, not delete, the first post. i am also choosing to edit, rather than delete, the first comment to me [again, thank you Mr WordPress, for providing both template and instruction so modularly!].

[LJL: Mr WordPress, welcoming me – giving me my first set of instructions ]

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

[LJL: auto-generated topics below…not sure if i want those or not]

i’ve since figured out how to turn these off. apparently the trade-off is that my articles will not get posted in a similar manner in other people’s blogs. i’m ok with that. there are some things i just don’t want auto-generated for me. my personal suggested or assumed taste in related articles is one of them.

2 Comments

    • lisaonline
    • Posted Wed December 31, 2008 at 16:09
    • Permalink

    [LJL: my first comment – thank you to Mr WordPress for providing a nice template setup]
    since Mr WordPress was kind enough to provide me with concise, to-the-point, startup formats and instructions, i thought it only appropriate to construct a brief thank you note.

    hello Mr WordPress.

    i suppose mostly everybody deletes the “Hello world!” post. i like it – i think i’ll leave it there. to me, it means… “YES!!!!! it’s WORKING!!!!!” … gives me a warm fuzzy feeling.

    oh, Mr WordPress, thank you for providing themes. i chose ChaosTheory because of the name, and the colors are – well – perfect.

    @lisaLJL

  1. [LJL: i just LOVE self-documenting processes]
    again, it’s a template acting as a placeholder, which also provides instruction on what to do next and how to do it.

    Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

