Skip navigation



How often do mistakes spark creativity?

Did you ever play that game where one person starts by whispering a phrase into someone’s ear, and the phrase is passed by whispering it from one person to the next – and it is very funny to see how the phrase gets distorted by the time it reaches the last person in line?

Well, I just had a similar visual experience. I was browsing online at CNN.com, and I read a headline out of the corner of my eye. It said…

“Satellites unearthed in ancient Egyptian ruins”

If course, it didn’t REALLY say that. It said “Satellites unearthing ancient Egyptian ruins”. But for a split second, my mind raced through a myriad of images and thoughts [some could have made a good prequel to AVP – others a sinister conspiracy theory].

The fact-checker part of my brain forced my eyeballs to re-read the headline. I was mistaken in what I had thought I read. And less than 3 seconds later I was back to what I was doing. If I was an author or a script-writer I would have been scribbling notes to myself. I’m not, so I didn’t [there are lots of things I DO scribble on napkins, though].

Was it a “spark of creativity”?

if you want to go down that path …
… it was … a new, sensual thought experience …

If you want to go down that path, sure it was. In the same way that a new sensual taste or texture experience can be created by blending flavors and unexpected ingredients, my mind overlaid two previously unrelated thoughts along with a few other random thoughts in my head at the time, and created a new, sensual thought experience. It was brief, but it was there.

So, what was that rush of images through my mind ?
Was it a “spark of creativity” ?

Drop a comment, and let me know if YOU think that mistakes spark creativity.

Leave a Reply

